Get Adobe Flash player

BE IT REMEMBERED, that the White County Drainage Board held a regular meeting on Monday, October 6, 2014. The meeting was held at the White County Building, 2nd floor, Commissioners’ conference room beginning at 10:30 a.m.

Drainage Board members present were: President Steve Burton, Vice President John Heimlich and Member David Diener. Also, present were the White County Attorney George W. Loy, White County Surveyor Bradley E. Ward and the Surveyor’s Secretary Sharon Broussard.

Others present were:

Mike Kyburz – White County Highway Department

Sharon Watson – White County Soil & Water

Todd Frauhiger, P.E. - AECOM

Richard W. Oberlander – Wolcott resident


Drainage Board President Steve Burton called the meeting to order.


· Member Heimlich made a motion to approve the minutes as presented for the regular meeting held on September 15, 2014, seconded by Member Diener. Vote: Unanimous



The discussion is continued from June 2, 2014, regarding the Maintenance Modification Hearing.


The account balance is (-$15,447.37). The landowners were billed in 2014. There are 613.548 acres in the watershed with 28 parcels and 23 landowners. The location of the ditch is east of Brookston, Indiana, in Prairie Township.


$1.00 Acre $5.00 Minimum Annual Assessment $629.43 Four year maximum is $2,568.56

Option #1

$10.00/Acre $10.00 Minimum Annual Assessment $6,143.91 (three year payback)

$2.50 Acre $10.00 Minimum Annual Assessment $1,570.17 (after three years)

President Burton asked if anyone was present to comment on the Maintenance Modification project before the hearing.

President Burton presented the Adoption of the A. Brackney #692 Maintenance Modification.


I.C. 836-9-27-42

The White County Drainage Board having heard and considered all the evidence and any objection submitted in these proceedings. The chairman would now consider a motion finding that the current estimate of maintaining the A. BRACKNEY #692 tile/drain is insufficient and that the annual assessments for periodic maintenance of said drain should be increased as proposed in these proceedings.

· Vice President Heimlich made a motion to adopt the A. Brackney #692 Maintenance Modification, seconded by member Diener. VOTE UNANIMOUS: 3 – FAVOR, 0 – OPPOSED

The motion has been made and seconded to increase this rate to ten dollars ($10.00 ) per acre and ten dollars ($10.00) minimum for three (3) years. In three (3) years reduce the rate to two dollars and fifty cents ($2.50) per acre and ten dollars ($10.00) minimum. The White County Drainage Board by a vote of three (3) in favor and zero (0) opposed now hereby adopts the schedule of assessments as originally filed herein or as amended. The White County Drainage Board issues its written Findings and Orders declaring the proposed maintenance modification schedule in these proceedings established. A copy of which will be mailed to all owners affected.


Todd Frauhiger, P.E., AECOM, presented a visual display to explain the Shell Building drainage plan. He has met onsite with the engineer and recommends approval of the drainage plan. He said the calculations are good. The two (2) year storm is 32 CFS and release 4. The one hundred (100) year storm is 70 CFS and release 4. There will be a meeting later this year to review a “master drainage study” for the entire area.

Attorney Loy said White County has developed a very good relationship with the “new” railroad.

President Burton discussed White County working out a maintenance agreement with the “new” railroad. They want to work with us, so the county maintains the drainage instead of the railroad. He asked Surveyor Ward for his recommendation.

Surveyor Ward recommends approval based on information provided. White County Engineer Todd Frauhiger, P.E. recommends approval.

· Member Diener made a motion to accept the proposed Shell Building drainage plan, seconded by Vice President Heimlich. Vote: Unanimous

There being no further business to come before the board, their meeting was adjourned.


_____________________ ____________________________ _______________

Steve Burton, President John Heimlich, Vice President David Diener, Member COMPLETE DIGITAL MINUTES MAY BE HEARD IN THE SURVEYOR’S OFFICE.