Get Adobe Flash player

BE IT REMEMBERED, that the White County Drainage Board held a regular meeting on Monday, December 21, 2015. The meeting was held at the White County Building, 2nd floor, Commissioners’ conference room beginning at 10:30 a.m.

Drainage Board members present were: President Steve Burton, Vice President John Heimlich and Member David Diener. Also, present were the White County Attorney George W. Loy, White County Surveyor Bradley E. Ward and the Surveyor’s Assistant Sharon Broussard.

Others present were:

Sharon Watson – White County Soil & Water Allen Howe – Howe Excavating

Mike Kyburz – White County Highway Superintendent Jack Pherson - landowner

J.D. Smith – White County Highway Dept. Frank Boardman

Brian Kennedy – Central Indiana Drainage, Inc.

President Burton called the meeting to order.


· Vice President Heimlich made a motion to approve the minutes as presented for the regular meeting held on December 7, 2015; seconded by Member Diener.

Vote: Unanimous


Surveyor Ward said there was a mandatory prebid meeting December 7, 2015 and two contractors were present. The contractors present were Tony Cain, T&M Enterprises, LLC, and Brian Kennedy, Central Indiana Drainage, Inc. The contractors not present were Allen Howe, Howe Excavating, Inc. and Cary Groninger, G & G Hauling & Excavating, Inc. The engineering estimate is three hundred fifty eight thousand seven hundred dollars ($358,700.00).

President Burton stated the prebid meeting is a requirement for the bid.

There were four (4) bids sent out to contractors and two (2) bids were received from Central Indiana Drainage and Howe Excavating.

Central Indiana Drainage, Inc., West Lafayette, IN: $398,895.00

Howe Excavating, Inc. Royal Center: Bid not accepted.

Vice President Heimlich stated “the bid is over 10%”. It is over 10% of the engineering estimate.

Brian Kennedy asked why gravel was not required instead of stone for the project? He stated his bid is public information and the other contractor’s bid is not. He said he is not doing the work and he subcontracted it out.

Surveyor Ward answered that the engineering firm, AECOM, has it designed using stone. He will look into revising the specifications.

Attorney Loy stated that the bid from Howe Excavating, Inc. cannot be accepted and he will not announce what it is. He returned the bid to Allen Howe. It was a condition of the bid to attend the prebid meeting. He advised to reject the one bid from Central Indiana Drainage, Inc. and rebid the project after the engineer reviews it to lower the cost.

· Member Diener moved to reject the one bid received and start over; Vice President Heimlich seconded the motion. VOTE: UNANIMOUS


Surveyor Ward reported the John L. Buss Petition for Reconstruction has not been received from the City of Monticello. The concerns are drainage from Altherr Park and down to Dodge Camp Road. The goal is to alleviate some of the flooding at the City Park.

Member Diener reported a meeting with Joe Grinstead, American Structure Point, on January 11, 2016 regarding the Gordon Road drainage impacting the John L. Buss ditch as they are discharging a storm drain into it which will compound issues for the whole site.


Jack Boardman, tenant, was present to represent his son, the tenant, and the landowner, Kenny Lawson. Mr. Boardman discussed the tile construction at the Ceres Farm that effects the Lawson Farm.

Attorney Loy advised Mr. Boardman that the White County Drainage Board does not have jurisdiction over private landowner (civil) issues. It does have jurisdiction over direct connections to assessments for and construction of the county regulated drains. This construction is not a county tile and the drainage board does not have the authority to intervene.


No additional comments.

There being no further business to come before the board, their meeting was adjourned.

· Member Diener made a motion to adjourn the meeting; seconded by Vice President Heimlich.

Vote: Unanimous

___________________ ___________________­_____ __________________

Steve Burton, President John Heimlich, Vice President David Diener, Member