Get Adobe Flash player

BE IT REMEMBERED, that the White County Commissioners held a regular meeting on Monday, January 7, 2019, in the White County Building, 2nd -floor Commissioners’ Conference Room, beginning at 8:15 a.m.

Commissioners present were: President John C. Heimlich, Commissioner Steve Burton, and Commissioner David Diener. Also present was White County Attorney George Loy, White County Auditor Gayle Rogers, and Commissioners’ Assistant Donya Tirpak.

Commissioner Heimlich called the meeting to order.


· Commissioner Diener made a motion to approve the minutes from the regular meeting held on December 17, 2018, and the special meeting held on December 28, 2018, seconded by Commissioner Burton. Vote: Unanimous




· Commissioner Diener made a motion to approve and pay the claims as presented, seconded by Commissioner Burton. Vote: Unanimous


· Commissioner Burton made a motion to approve the list of appointments for 2019, seconded by Commissioner Diener. Vote: Unanimous

Alcoholic Beverage Board 1 Year Appointment

Larry Hartzler

Animal Disease Emergency 1 Year Appointment

Dr. Carl Hites

Attorney, White County 1 Year Appointment

George Loy

Board of Finance 1 Year Appointment

David Diener, President

John Heimlich

Steve Burton

Butch Kramer – Council member – nonvoting member

Child Protection Team 1 Year Appointment

David Diener

John Heimlich

Steve Burton

Citizen’s Advisory Committee 1 Year Appointment

Dawn Girard

E-911 Board 1 Year Appointment

Steve Burton

Economic Development Board 1 Year Appointment

John C. Heimlich, Member

David Diener, Member

Emergency Management Advisory Council 4 Year Appointment

Tommy Bartlett, Brookston

Steve Burton, County Commissioner (1-year appointment)

Health Board 4 Year Appointment

Michelle Nichols, Registered Nurse

Linda Russow, General Public

Kankakee-Iroquois Reg. Planning 1 Year Appointment

David Diener

Maintenance, County Courthouse 1 Year Appointment

Ed Ward, Supervisor

Northwest Indiana Solid Waste Board 1 Year Appointment

David Diener, Member

Steve Burton, Member

John Heimlich, Alternate

Butch Kramer County Council’s recommendation

Jim Davis, Alternate County Council’s recommendation

Ralph Widmer City Council’s recommendation

Phil Vogel, Alternate City Council’s recommendation

Sick Bank Committee 1 Year Appointment

John Heimlich, Commissioner

Lisa Downey, Elected County Official

Leah Hull, Regular Full-time Employee

White County Commissioners 1 Year Appointment

John C. Heimlich, President

Steve Burton, Vice President

David Diener, Member


Innkeepers Tax

Director Joe Rogers said that he has talked to Senator Buchanan and he is prepared to introduce to legislation the modified Innkeeper’s Tax code for White County. The modification request that VRBO and Airbnb be included in the White County Innkeeper’s tax code.

Odor Ordinance

With the information from Cornerstone Environmental Health & Safety and research, Director Rogers put together a draft ordinance that addresses extreme odors from industries. He presented and discussed an Odor Control Plan Guide, a draft ordinance and definitions.

If everything looks acceptable, Director Rogers will present everything to the Wolcott Town Board.

Attorney George Loy commended Director Rogers for all the research and putting this information together. He said it’s an excellent proposed ordinance.

Commissioner Diener made the recommendation that the ordinance is presented to the Wolcott Town Board to see if they have any recommendations before they have the first reading.

Director Rogers said that he would get that scheduled and let them know in case they would like to attend the meeting.


County Attorney Loy presented a Business Associate Agreement between White County and Huntington Insurance, Inc. He said that it is an agreement that complies with HIPAA that gives Huntington Insurance permission to release only so much medical information as required.

· Commissioner Diener made a motion to authorize a signature and approve the Business Associate Agreement with Huntington Insurance, seconded by Commissioner Burton. Vote: Unanimous

There being no further business to come before the board, their meeting adjourned.

___________________________ _____________________________ __________________________

John C. Heimlich, President Steve Burton, Vice President David Diener, Member

ATTEST: _________________________

Gayle Rogers, Auditor