Get Adobe Flash player

BE IT REMEMBERED that a regular meeting of the White County Council was held at the White County Building at Monticello at 9:00 A.M. on July 18, 2011 for the purpose of discussing the additional appropriations and other business that might come before the membership.

Council President Dennis Carter called the Council meeting to order in joint session with the Commissioners.  The following members were present:

Dennis E Carter           Kevin L Crabb        Gary W Hendryx
Bruce D Clear        James G Annis         Dennis D Cain   

For content of joint session, see Commissioners’ minutes.

Councilor Clear made a motion to accept the June 20, 2011 minutes and to accept the July 1, 2011 Special Council meeting minutes.  Councilor Annis seconded the motion.                                                  Vote:  Unanimous

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE County Council of White County, Indiana that for the expenses of said Municipal Corporation the following additional sums of money are hereby appropriated and set apart out of the fund.  Herein specified and subject to the laws governing the same.
REQUESTED            ALLOWED       

Big Creek Township Trustee            $    2,000.00            $    2,000.00
Brookston Public Library            $  11,800.00            $  11,800.00
Frontier School Corporation            $580,000.00            $580,000.00
Prairie Township Trustee            $    6,000.00            $    6,000.00
West Point Township Trustee            $    2,000.00            $    2,000.00
TOTAL    $601,800.00            $601,800.00

Round Grove Township Trustee        $    5,590.00            $    5,590.00
Prairie Township Trustee            $       730.00            $       730.00
Frontier School Corporation            $  23,630.00            $  23,630.00
Tri-County School Corporation        $180,170.00            $180,170.00
Brookston Public Library            $       350.00            $       350.00   
TOTAL    $210,470.00            $210,470.00

West Point Township Trustee            $    6,030.00            $    6,030.00
Frontier School Corporation            $  12,390.00            $  12,390.00
Tri-County School Corporation        $181,760.00            $181,760.00
TOTAL    $200,180.00            $200,180.00

Councilor Crabb made a motion to appropriate the above request from Horizon Wind Economic Development Fund.  Councilor Hendryx seconded the motion.
Vote:  Unanimous 

REQUESTED            ALLOWED     

Debco Metal Culverts            $   4,742.30            $   4,742.30

6th Street Project            $   9,636.81            $   9,636.81
TOTAL    $ 14,379.11            $ 14,379.11

Councilor Annis made a motion to appropriate the above request from the CEDIT Fund.  Councilor Clear seconded the motion.                     Vote:  Unanimous

E911 Fund #218

Mileage                $   1,075.70            $   1,075.70
Printing                $      335.00            $      335.00
Training                $   2,632.62            $   2,632.62
TOTAL    $   4,063.32             $   4,063.32

**Reduction in Appropriations:
E911 Surtax Fund #94

Mileage                $   1,075.70            $   1,075.70
Printing                $      335.00            $      335.00
Training                $   2,632.62            $   2,632.62
TOTAL    $   4,063.32             $   4,063.32

Auditor Guingrich said State Board of Accounts explained last time they audited the E911 funds, the money was coming out of the wrong fund for the expenses incurred.  The funds must therefore be transferred to the right fund.  It’s being treated as an additional appropriation because they are different types of funds, and it was also advertised.   
Councilor Clear made a motion to appropriate the above request for E911 Fund #218.  He also included in his motion the reduction in appropriations from the E911 Surtax fund #94.  Councilor Annis seconded the motion.                    Vote:  Unanimous.        

White County Sheriff Shafer expressed his sadness at the news of Faye Lowring’s passing.  She was a former Councilor. 
Sheriff Shafer said Mike Zimmer accepted a job with the Department of Corrections Juvenile Division at Logansport.  With the Councils’ approval, Sheriff Shafer would like to replace the Corrections position with someone Jail Commander Terry Corso has selected.
He said there is also a possibility Gary Adams may retire on September 1, 2011.  If that is going to happen, he may switch his position with Brandon Mc Leland’s position as Court House Security, but keep his authority status.  That would keep PERF paperwork stable.  Sheriff Shafer said there were 27 applicants in 13 days.
Councilor Annis made a motion to hire a replacement for the open Correction’s position.  Councilor Hendryx seconded the motion.                    Vote:  Unanimous 

Councilor Cain asked about a storage room that stores the emergency police radios and other equipment that E911 Director Terri Conwell was concerned could be too hot for the equipment.  Sheriff Shafer was unaware of any problem with the storage room temperature.  Councilor Crabb said REMC has an equipment room that must stay at 60 degrees, and has its own air conditioner.  He said the equipment is very susceptible to the heat.  Sheriff Shafer said it’s been there since 1998.  Commander Corso said the double access doors probably let in more heat, but the double access doors are needed.        

Councilor Annis asked about Deputy Bob White’s health.  Sheriff Shafer said he is scheduled for surgery this month.  Councilor Cain said he has heard feedback from the community about the County providing Deputy White with the use of a car since he hasn’t been working since Spring. 

Auditor Guingrich said all the Councilors should have received a password from the Department of Local Government Finance for access to the Gateway on-line program that will be used to review budgets in August.  None of the Councilors has received it.

There being no further business to bring before the Council, Councilor Cain made a motion to adjourn.  Councilor Clear seconded the motion.            Vote:  Unanimous

___________________________             ___________________________            ___________________________          
DENNIS E CARTER, PRESIDENT        JAMES ANNIS                   GARY W HENDRYX                                         

___________________________             ___________________________            ___________(absent)_________
DENNIS D CAIN                                       KEVIN L CRABB                             RAYMOND L KRAMER JR

___________________________              Attest:  ___________________________
BRUCE D CLEAR                            JILL GUINGRICH, AUDITOR