Get Adobe Flash player

BE IT REMEMBERED that a regular meeting of the White County Council was held at the White County Building at Monticello at 9:00 A.M. on August 15, 2011 for the purpose of discussing the additional appropriations and other business that might come before the membership.

Council President Dennis Carter called the Council meeting to order in joint session with the Commissioners.  The following members were present:

Dennis E Carter           Kevin L Crabb        Gary W Hendryx
Bruce D Clear        Raymond L Kramer Jr     James G Annis
Dennis D Cain

For content of joint session, see Commissioners’ minutes.

Councilor Clear made a motion to accept the July 18, 2011 minutes.  Councilor Annis seconded the motion.                              Vote:  Unanimous

The following transfers were received:

AMOUNT    FROM                TO
White County Civil Defense    $1,700.00    Communication Repair    Overtime
1-5-3-11    1-5-1-10

Councilor Cain made a motion to approve the above transfer.  Councilor Hendryx seconded the motion.                                Vote:  Unanimous

Auditor Jill Guingrich presented a request from Lisa Downey, County Assessor, for a $200,000 reduction in her Reassessment fund budget for 2012.  Auditor Guingrich explained that the Assessor has sufficient funds available to pay the remaining expected expenses for 2011, and that the $200,000 would be encumbered for use in 2012, where the Assessor will have a significant shortfall.  Auditor Guingrich explained that the $200,000 does not involve General Fund monies but instead involves funds in the Reassessment line item (Line 127), and therefore the request has no effect on the 2012 General budget.  However, DLGF Representative Miranda Bucy had instructed Auditor Guingrich to present the matter to the Council for approval of the budget reduction and encumbrance of funds.  After discussion among the Councilors to clarify the request, Councilor Crabb made a motion to approve the Assessor’s requested 2011 budget reduction and encumbrance of the funds for 2012 reassessment expenditures.  Councilor Annis seconded the motion.                                Vote:  Unanimous

An RUS Grant for video conference equipment to be shared among the County’s schools was discussed both at a previous Council meeting, and the expenditure of $158,111 from County funds for the 20% grant match was approved at the 8-15-11 joint session of the Council and Commissioners by both bodies (see Commissioners’ minutes).   Council President Carter brought the matter up for discussion and vote by the Council as to which fund would be utilized to make the grant match expenditure.  After discussion among Councilors as to which fund would be best used, Councilor Kramer made the motion that the $158,111 expenditure for the RUS Grant match be made from the Wind Farm Economic Development Fund (Fund 221).  Councilor Annis seconded the motion.                    Vote:  Unanimous

Auditor Guingrich presented all available information submitted by the County’s towns, cities, townships, and libraries for the annual non-binding review of their budgets.  Auditor Guingrich pointed out that Miranda Bucy suggested it would be better to approve the budgets available at this time so that the Council would not be delaying those taxing bodies in advertising and obtaining DLGF approval of their budgets.
All Library budgets were available for review.  Of the City/Town budgets, only the Town of Chalmers and the City of Monticello budgets were missing.  Township budgets not available for review were Liberty, Lincoln, Round Grove, and Union.
After discussion of the review process and a brief review by the Council of the available information, it was generally agreed by the entire Council that the non-binding budget review is an exercise in futility but something that must be done.  Councilor Clear therefore made a motion to approve all of the Town/City, Township, and Library budgets that the Auditor had on hand, which included Brookston, Monon, Wolcott and Monticello Public Libraries; the Towns of Brookston, Burnettsville, Monon, Reynolds and Wolcott; Townships of Big Creek, Cass, Honey Creek, Jackson, Monon, Prairie, Princeton and West Point.  Councilor Kramer seconded the motion.                                    Vote:  Unanimous

Auditor Guingrich also raised the issue of review dates for the County’s budget, and she advised the Council that there was no advantage to be gained by holding an additional meeting or acting early on the County budget.   Council President Carter stated that the Council would simply hold the review and public comment hearings at its regularly scheduled September and October meeting, and the remaining Councilors concurred.

Council President Carter stated that White County Sheriff Patrick Shafer was on the agenda and had been scheduled to appear to discuss a personnel issue involving replacement of a Deputy, but Sheriff Shafer had a schedule conflict and was not present.  Council President Carter informed the Council that the personnel matter had been handled, and that he had advised Sheriff Shafer there was no need to appear at the meeting as there was no Council action required.

White County E911 Communications Director Terry Conwell reported to the Council that Joyce Mossholder was leaving the E911 department and would, in fact, be receiving her last paycheck today (8/15/11).  Director Conwell reported that she has a part-time employee, Jessica Mawbey, who will be converted to full-time to fill the position.  Director Conwell also reported briefly on the status of her dispatchers.  No Council action was required for the personnel action, but the entire Council concurred with Director Conwell’s action.
Councilor Clear inquired into the status of the equipment storage area and the air conditioning issue.  Director Conwell informed the Council that Commissioner Steve Burton had spoken with Jail Commander Terry Corso and the issue was being addressed by Mr. Corso.  Councilor Clear requested that Director Conwell keep the Council informed of progress in this area.

There being no further business to bring before the Council, Councilor Clear made a motion to adjourn.  Councilor Crabb seconded the motion.            Vote:  Unanimous

___________________________             ___________________________            ___________________________          
DENNIS E CARTER, PRESIDENT        JAMES ANNIS                   GARY W HENDRYX                                         

___________________________             ___________________________            ___________________________
DENNIS D CAIN                                       KEVIN L CRABB                             RAYMOND L KRAMER JR

___________________________              Attest:  ___________________________
BRUCE D CLEAR                            JILL GUINGRICH, AUDITOR